Faith in God


Religious faith empowers individuals.

On a journey back home, from Puri to Konnagar, I witnessed a remarkable scene at Sealdah station. Others migjtb not have noticed it at all. 

Amidst the bustling crowd returning from Gangasagar Mela, I saw,  a 95-year-old woman burdened by age stood out. Despite her frailty, she walked steadily and firmly through the crowd. I was struck by how an old lady, bent double, could undertake such an arduous pilgrimage in severe winter! It was as an amazing experience.

Where does she draw her strength from? It seems her enduring religious faith provides her with the required strength to endure the hardships of Gangasagar in winter. Minus her faith she would have worn out on the way. But her unwavering faith in God bestows her strength. All religious scriptures universally advocate faith in God. Those who possess it can overcome formidable challenges, like the pilgrimage made by this frail old woman.

As someone who held dear communism in my youth, influenced by Western thoughts and oscillating between faith and faithlessness even in my ripe old age, I find conviction of faith in this elderly woman compelling.  THE END.

Author: travelindia287.com

I am Bhanu chakraborti, a leisurely retired person at my 70, earned many experiences of life --right or wrong, yet those are experience indeed. But in no way, shaky to tell my experiences to the world. Those may be funny, some may be ridiculous even, but I do not lose heart to tell the world my ' glorious ideas'--after all, in this big bad world, nobody is sure what is right, and what is wrong. What appears to be true today, may be proved wrong tomorrow. Many 'bad' ideas rejected, even punished, in the past, getting hallowed later. Some literary works ( LOLITA eg), banned in the author's life time but later awarded Noble prize. ... near at home, you must have seen cases rejected in a district court, later won in High court/ supreme court. ...... this gives me courage to speak my mind even those are ridiculous. Speaking my mind gives a relief, and an abundant supply of relaxation which perhaps no money can buy. But the joy derived from my speaking my mind and writing is multiplied many folds when I can share, more so, when I can discuss personally. But it is difficult to get people to share, many abhor. Too many are secured in their popular world of orthodox belief, fear the insecurity of unknown world. They live in their shell. But I have a few secured, nice of them, they encourage me, i am grateful to them, I extract some pleasur out of this. God bless them!!!